AArk Organization

The Amphibian Ark was created in 2007 to carry out the ex situ components of the IUCN Amphibian Specialist Group’s Amphibian Conservation Action Plan (ACAP). An Executive Committee comprised of representatives of the three founding partners oversees the work of AArk. A Steering Committee of representatives of major global stakeholder groups provides additional guidance.

AArk organizationPrincipal Partners


  • Conservation Planning Specialist Group (CPSG): Dr. Onnie Byers (Executive Committee Chair)
  • World Association of Zoos and Aquariums (WAZA): Damien Pellandini
  • Amphibian Specialist Group (ASG): To be advised

Amphibian Ark works with key coordinating bodies in global amphibian conservation – the IUCN SSC Amphibian Specialist Group (ASG) and the Amphibian Survival Alliance (ASA) – to achieve a shared vision: Amphibians thriving in nature.

Steering Committee

  • African Association of Zoos and Aquaria (PAAZAB): To be confirmed
  • Asociación Latinoamericana de Parques Zoológicos y Acuarios (ALPZA): Andrea Caiozzi
  • Asociación Mesoamericana de Zoológicos y Acuarios (AMACZOOA): Yolanda Matamoros
  • Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA): Shelly Grow
  • Botanic Gardens Conservation International (BGCI): Dr. David Galbraith
  • Canadian Association of Zoos and Aquariums (CAZA): Greg Tarry
  • Chinese Association of Zoological Gardens (CAZG): Qiao Yilun
  • European Association of Zoos and Aquaria (EAZA): Dr. Gerardo Garcia
  • Euro-Asian Regional Association of Zoos and Aquariums (EARAZA): Evgeny Ryboltovsky
  • International Aquarium Forum (IAF): Paul Van den Sande
  • Museums: Dr. Andrew Gray
  • International Species Information System (ISIS): Nate Flesness
  • Japanese Association of Zoos and Aquariums (JAZA): Dr. Kaszushi Kuwabara
  • Private sector Australia: Gerry Marantelli
  • Private sector Europe: Peter Janzen
  • Private sector USA: Ron Skylstad
  • South Asian Zoo Association for Regional Cooperation (SAZARC): Sally Walker
  • South East Asian Zoos Association (SEAZA): Dr. Mirza D. Kusrini
  • Sociedade de Zoológicos do Brasil (SZB): Hans Furrer
  • Zoo and Aquarium Association (Australasia): Susan Hunt
  • Other: Dr. David M. Green

AArk staff


Advisory Committees


Amphibian Ark is incredibly lucky to have a large group of professional associates who regularly offer their services to support our amphibian conservation work. Amphibian Ark’s Constitution was approved by the Founding Members of the Steering Committee on 15-16 February 2007.